postgrespro.git / summary / log / commit / refs

commit    64bbe1039962a75cb292fb557e2e79a58c77ec33
Author:   Bruce Momjian <bruce@momjian.us>
Date:     Wed Apr 17 22:01:02 2019 +0000

    docs: clarify pg_upgrade's recovery behavior
    
    The previous paragraph trying to explain --check, --link, and no --link
    modes and the various points of failure was too complex.  Instead, use
    bullet lists and sublists.
    
    Reported-by: Daniel Gustafsson
    
    Discussion: https://postgr.es/m/qtqiv7hI87s_Xvz5ZXHCaH-1-_AZGpIDJowzlRjF3-AbCr3RhSNydM_JCuJ8DE4WZozrtxhIWmyYTbv0syKyfGB6cYMQitp9yN-NZMm-oAo=@yesql.se
    
    Backpatch-through: 9.4


doc/src/sgml/ref/pgupgrade.sgml | 52 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++------------- 1 file changed, 36 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-) diff --git a/doc/src/sgml/ref/pgupgrade.sgml b/doc/src/sgml/ref/pgupgrade.sgml index f6d423ee13..0c4b16d32c 100644 --- a/doc/src/sgml/ref/pgupgrade.sgml +++ b/doc/src/sgml/ref/pgupgrade.sgml @@ -678,32 +678,52 @@ psql --username=postgres --file=script.sql postgres <itemizedlist> <listitem> <para> - If you ran <command>pg_upgrade</command> - with <option>--check</option>, no modifications were made to the old - cluster and you can re-use it anytime. + If the <option>--check</option> option was used, the old cluster + was unmodified; it can be restarted. </para> </listitem> <listitem> <para> - If you ran <command>pg_upgrade</command> - with <option>--link</option>, the data files are shared between the - old and new cluster. If you started the new cluster, the new - server has written to those shared files and it is unsafe to - use the old cluster. + If the <option>--link</option> option was <emphasis>not</emphasis> + used, the old cluster was unmodified; it can be restarted. </para> </listitem> <listitem> <para> - If you ran <command>pg_upgrade</command> <emphasis>without</emphasis> - <option>--link</option> or did not start the new server, the - old cluster was not modified except that, if linking - started, a <literal>.old</literal> suffix was appended to - <filename>$PGDATA/global/pg_control</filename>. To reuse the old - cluster, possibly remove the <filename>.old</filename> suffix from - <filename>$PGDATA/global/pg_control</filename>; you can then restart the - old cluster. + If the <option>--link</option> option was used, the data + files might be shared between the old and new cluster: + + <itemizedlist> + <listitem> + <para> + If <command>pg_upgrade</command> aborted before linking started, + the old cluster was unmodified; it can be restarted. + </para> + </listitem> + + <listitem> + <para> + If you did <emphasis>not</emphasis> start the new cluster, the old + cluster was unmodified except that, when linking started, a + <literal>.old</literal> suffix was appended to + <filename>$PGDATA/global/pg_control</filename>. To reuse the old + cluster, remove the <filename>.old</filename> suffix from + <filename>$PGDATA/global/pg_control</filename>; you can then restart + the old cluster. + </para> + </listitem> + + <listitem> + <para> + If you did start the new cluster, it has written to shared files + and it is unsafe to use the old cluster. The old cluster will + need to be restored from backup in this case. + </para> + </listitem> + + </itemizedlist> </para> </listitem> </itemizedlist> [parent: 1a75c1d0c5d9]