pg.ddx.io  pgsql-docs@postgresql.org mailing list archive  
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jonathan S. Katz <jkatz@postgresql.org>
To: Magnus Hagander <magnus@hagander.net>
To: Daniel Gustafsson <daniel@yesql.se>
Cc: pgsql-docs@lists.postgresql.org <pgsql-docs@lists.postgresql.org>
Subject: Re: Clarification to pg_upgrade docs on reverting to old cluster
Date: Fri, 5 Apr 2019 10:15:59 -0400
Message-ID: <d439a7aa-7735-7ed9-8119-3b159a5d7741@postgresql.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CABUevExh8f947ZP1a=Xki4M_EndakxbWuMOnDdVEH5BRMZC+DA@mail.gmail.com>
References: <qtqiv7hI87s_Xvz5ZXHCaH-1-_AZGpIDJowzlRjF3-AbCr3RhSNydM_JCuJ8DE4WZozrtxhIWmyYTbv0syKyfGB6cYMQitp9yN-NZMm-oAo=@yesql.se>
	<CABUevExh8f947ZP1a=Xki4M_EndakxbWuMOnDdVEH5BRMZC+DA@mail.gmail.com>

On 4/5/19 8:26 AM, Magnus Hagander wrote:
> 
> 
> On Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 11:14 PM Daniel Gustafsson <daniel@yesql.se
> <mailto:daniel@yesql.se>> wrote:
> 
>     Reading the pg_upgrade reference page, I get the feeling that one of the
>     bullets under "Reverting to old cluster" is a bit thin on detail to
>     be helpful
>     to newcomers:
> 
>         "If you ran pg_upgrade with --link, the data files are shared
>     between the
>         old and new cluster.  If you started the new cluster, the new
>     server has
>         written to those shared files and it is unsafe to use the old
>     cluster."
> 
>     This is perfectly correct, but it fails to provide information on
>     what to do
>     next in case reverting is in fact what the user wants.  The attached
>     patch adds
>     a short sentence saying the old cluster should be restored from
>     backups at this
>     point.
> 
> 
> Let's have two non-english natives discuss it :), but wouldn't it sound
> better with "in this case" than "at this point"? And as a really small
> nitpick, restore from backup, rather than backups? 

I would go with:

"If you need to restore the old cluster, you will have to do so using
backups that you took prior to the upgrade."

Or if you want to be overly verbose:

"If you need to restore the old cluster, you will have to do so using
backups that you made prior to the upgrade as the --link does not create
a copy of the old cluster files."

Jonathan

Attachments:

  signature.asc (application/pgp-signature, 832B) download

view thread (7+ messages)  latest in thread

Message-ID: <d439a7aa-7735-7ed9-8119-3b159a5d7741@postgresql.org>
Permalink:  ../d439a7aa-7735-7ed9-8119-3b159a5d7741@postgresql.org/
Also on:    postgresql.org/message-id/d439a7aa-7735-7ed9-8119-3b159a5d7741@postgresql.org

 · 

reply

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Reply to all the recipients using the --to and --cc options:
  reply via email

  To: pgsql-docs@postgresql.org
  Cc: jkatz@postgresql.org, magnus@hagander.net, daniel@yesql.se, pgsql-docs@lists.postgresql.org
  Subject: Re: Clarification to pg_upgrade docs on reverting to old cluster
  In-Reply-To: <d439a7aa-7735-7ed9-8119-3b159a5d7741@postgresql.org>

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

This inbox is served by DDX for PostgreSQL; see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox